Fitness Fitology 3: What I eat for a day

As our days get busier and longer, it gets harder and harder to eat healthy, to have time to prepare healthy meals and to be mindful of what we eat. There are a few simple tips that can be utilised by anyone to negate all of the potential negative outcomes that come with the lack of food prep (I briefly did a HOW TO on meal prepping on a budget here) but the requirement of this is planning and consistency. We will discuss this again in another post.

Assuming that you already practise this, today’s post is looking at what I eat for a day. Of course, if this is something you don’t do, I’d love to cover it in future posts. Let me know if this is something you want to see!

Here is the breakdown of a typical meal day for me. Obviously, things can change depending on a variety of things, like seasonal pairings of fruit and vegetables, weekend meal dates and catchups with friends etc, but for the most part I will stick to this way of eating as a base. Because I meal prep, I always have frozen grilled chicken in my freezer, and can use it for a variety of different dinners. If you’d like to see other recipe options in future posts, leave a comment below!


Breakfast 1:

0530hrs – 1-piece GF toast (no wheat, soy flours), 1 egg (from my own chooks, whole), 1 slice ham/bacon, half smashed Avo. Coffee with full cream milk and coconut sugar.

Breakfast 2:

0800-0830hrs – Half cup oats, 1 chobani Greek yoghurt, half to 1 punnet berries or half banana.

Lunch 1:

1030-1100hrs – 50grams grilled chicken breast, approx. 60-70grams brown rice (microwave cup is 125g, I only eat half), cup of steamed broccoli

Lunch 2:

1200hrs – Sometimes I eat at work (work paid meal), if not I eat the remaining 50grams of chicken and remainder of rice, cup of steamed broccoli

Afternoon snack 1:

1330-1400hrs – 1 granny smith apple, remaining half of banana, almonds

Afternoon snack 2:

1700hrs – 2x brown rice organic rice crackers, cottage cheese, cherry tomatoes

GYM

Dinner:

1800hrs – Grilled chicken, rice or potato, steamed vegies and/or fresh green salad

Liquid:

2-3litres of water. Sometimes I mix up an X50 green tea sachet to break the monotony of water, but mostly I drink plain water.


Do you also eat this way? If not, do you want to eat this way or learn how to? Like, share, comment and stay tuned for daily blog posts on thatfitologylife.com.

Leave a comment