3 things I struggle with as a new blogger: Part 1

I’m only new to the blog world, and to be honest it has been a bit of a journey to see whether or not this medium is suitable for me. Of course it is, (how silly of me to think otherwise!) because whilst I love cameras and photography, I don’t like videography, so vlogging may not be viable for me. I also love listening to podcasts, but my voice sounds horrendous recorded so I wouldn’t want to expose others to my weird tone. I perform better with written word; I can say more and I can say it more thoroughly then when I try to speak it. I’ve always been that way.

For today’s post I wanted to look at the things I struggle with as a new blogger because undoubtedly, it doesn’t matter which point we are at in this journey, we’ve all gone through these emotions at some point. Part 1 looks at fear and change. Part 2 will look at finding inspiration and part 3 will be consistency.

Fear & Change

We’ve all been down this path before, well, those of us on the journey to make life easier. I see making my life easier by starting a blog – starting a following of likeminded individuals who want to live a fitology life. Not being bound by conformism and modern day constraints…

Let’s just clarify my take on modern day constraints though…I’m one of those people who wants to be completely removed from the world, living on like 500 acres out in the bush, with quietness and serenity all around, having my own garden, and chooks, and some cows in the paddocks, but I totally want high speed internet connected to my house. I’m one of those people who hates other people’s noise, but don’t mind my own.

I’ve been researching MBTI personality types lately and I seem to qualify as an INTJ – it was the first time ever I’d read something that made complete and utter sense to the way I do things and the way I have always done things, even as a kid. The description above it seems, is something that is very much an INTJ trait, and I am totally okay with that.

So in my attempt to be a non-conforming, individual with my own rules and limitations, I don’t want to be tied down by typical constraints. I am sick of being a sheep, following the same path as everyone else to go to my 9-5 job every day, being stuck in traffic, wearing pooncy business attire with neat hair. That is so not me, and never has been. I don’t want to fit the mould like everybody else and I don’t want to follow the same societal rules as everyone else.

I want to be able to sleep in if I want, and not have to race around in the morning getting ready for work to go and sit in my car for an hour stuck in traffic to then work my ass off all day to finish and again sit in the car for an hour and be stuck in traffic. I don’t want to pay for parking. I don’t want to pay for lunch. I don’t want to be stressed because I have to be in the office with a complete fucking moron I can’t stand but have to be nice to because if I’m not then it isn’t okay. I don’t want to lose so much time commuting for bullshit reasons and wearing clothes that are so damn uncomfortable…

What I do want is to wake up, with messed hair and my pyjamas, a steaming cup of my own coffee with my own organic milk from the local farm and sit at the breakfast bar eating my own chook eggs and my dad’s homemade triple smoked bacon. I then want to go and write, all day, write and write and write (which I kind of do as a job anyway, just it’s much more technical) – I want to be creative, think outside the square and feel like I am being myself. I want to be able to take a break midway through and chuck a load of washing on, pick-up more eggs from the chooks and put my gym gear on so I can use my at home gym for a workout.

Surely life must be this easy? Surely there are people who have this experience and can live this life? The hardest thing I think is to not have that fear to move into a new direction which I so totally do. I’m fearful of not making enough money, of not being able to utilise my university qualifications I worked my ass off for in my new job and of not being successful enough. I don’t need to be a millionaire, but I do want to be an equal contributor to my household and I am afraid that by taking the leap into the unknown I will stuff it up.

As a new blogger, this is definitely my biggest struggle. I so want to branch out and do something else that is defined by me (and not Agencies, corporations or others in executive positions).

What are some of your tips for making this transition? And those who have, how did it work for you?