Review: APP – ADF Active

 

I recently downloaded this app because I wanted something with the beep test on it. I completely loathe cardio (who doesn’t?) and have failed to do any since I started training.

adfactive

ADF Active (Google Play Store)

However much I dislike it though, I kind of need to have some cardio/endurance fitness of some sort. I need it for a physical test I myself am training for and this app seemed as if it had exactly what I needed.

Well, I wasn’t wrong. Not only does it have just the standard beep test but it has different workouts for different levels that you could actually use as HIIT workouts. You can also use the entire or partial workouts offered on the app to train specifically for the PFA, or any other test including ones for law enforcement applications.

Once you log in to the app you have a variety options but you’re brought to a landing page of sorts with the ADF Active page which asks you “How would you like to start?” Here you can select an option to create your own fitness program, do a quick workout or take the PFA. If you press the 3 line menu at the top right, it opens up to Quick Workout, the PFA (which is the military fitness test), your goals, my profile, BMI calculator, app info and logout. Selecting any of these options will allow you to get into looking at what the exercise and fitness requirements are for your training regime.

I’ve included snapshots of the workout tab, the PFA tab, the Goals area where you can make your own program and the BMI calculator.

The app is very easy to use. There are just enough inbuilt video samples to show you how to do something if required. The app is specifically tailored to the Australian Defence Force test however so if you’re out of Australia the fitness requirements may be different depending on the armed service you’re planning on training for. It also includes the ADF benchmarks for Navy, Army and Airforce. I think that even if you are planning on training for a Police entrance exam, this app is a good way for you to get your fitness up at home, with no gym membership and no expensive machines. All the exercise offerings are based around bodyweight, core strength and increasing your endurance.

Some of the app feedback states that the beep test goes up only to 7.5. For my own purposes I only need it to be about 6 so this doesn’t concern me, however if this is a concern for you maybe a different app would be better.

Overall a well-rounded app. For my own purposes I don’t need that much out of it, but it’s good to be able to measure your benchmarks and make goals towards your fitness and if going into the military or law enforcement is something you’re keen on, this might be a good option for you to start with.